Skip to main content

Research Clusters

Our research clusters are focused on ideas. They act as centres of gravity for collective research activity and provide the foundational means through which we generate the diversity, vibrancy and innovation that underpins our research. They are the mechanism by which we develop new collective research areas and by which we foster and maintain innovative and alternative forms of research practice, output, and societal engagement.

Learn more about our research clusters

Our clusters serve as points of connection to the department for postgraduates and research staff. Cluster boundaries are permeable, and most staff are affiliated to more than one. Clusters are also dynamic, and we routinely reflect on our organisational structure to ensure that the research environment is aligned with the interests of the current cohorts of staff and research students, as well as external challenges.

Human and Physical Geography Clusters

Economy & Culture

Explore our work on how culture and economy intersect.
Lego unassembled


Explore our work across political geography and geopolitics.
The blue Extinction Rebellion boat

Geographies of Life

Explore our work engaging the boundaries of life.
Chihuly tree at Kew Gardens

Urban Worlds

Explore our work on urban processes and spaces.
Blocks in water

Catchments and Rivers

Explore our work on monitoring and modelling feedbacks and interactions in hillslope and river environments.
Students taking river measurements

Hazards and Surface Change

Explore our holistic work on hazards as chronic physical processes, not one-off events.
Landslide in Nepal

Sea Level, Ice and Climate

Explore our work on ice sheet responses to external and internal forcing and contributions to sea-level rise.
snow drifting off of a arctic mountain

Academic researchers

Name Position
Professor Louise Amoore Professor
Professor Ben Anderson Professor
Dr Penelope Anthias Assistant Professor
Professor Sarah Atkinson Professor
Dr Andrew Baldwin Associate Professor
Professor Mike Bentley Professor
Dr Isabella Bovolo Assistant Professor
Professor Louise Bracken Professor
Dr Matthew Brain Associate Professor
Dr Sage Brice Lecturer in Human Geography
Professor Gavin Bridge Professor
Professor David R. Bridgland Professor
Professor Harriet Bulkeley Professor
Dr Patrice Carbonneau Associate Professor
Dr Fiona Clubb Assistant Professor
Dr Rachel Colls Associate Professor
Dr Nicholas J. Cox Assistant Professor
Professor Mike Crang Professor / Head of Department
Dr Jonathan Darling Associate Professor
Professor Alexander Densmore Professor / Deputy Head of Department
Professor Danny Donoghue Professor
Dr Simon Engelhart Assistant Professor
Professor David J.A. Evans Professor
Professor Richard J. Hardy Professor
Dr Paul Harrison Associate Professor
Professor Robert Hilton Professor
Dr Rebecca Hodge Associate Professor
Dr Luke Jackson Assistant Professor
Dr Stewart Jamieson Associate Professor
Dr Sarah Knuth Assistant Professor
Dr Karen Lai Associate Professor
Professor Paul Langley Professor
Dr Jessica Lehman Assistant Professor
Dr Noam Leshem Associate Professor
Dr Jeremy Lloyd Associate Professor
Professor Antony Long Professor
Dr Andrés Luque-Ayala Associate Professor
Dr Helen Mackay Lecturer in Physical Geography
Dr Lauren Martin Associate Professor
Professor Erin McClymont Professor
Professor Cheryl McEwan Professor
Professor Colin McFarlane Professor
Professor Glenn McGregor Professor
Dr Paola Moffa-Sanchez Assistant Professor
Dr Leonie Newhouse Assistant Professor
Dr Marijn Nieuwenhuis Assistant Professor
Professor Colm O'Cofaigh Professor
Professor Joe Painter Professor
Professor Marcus Power Professor
Dr Sim M. Reaney Associate Professor
Mr Ludovico Rella Teaching Fellow
Professor Dave Roberts Professor
Professor Nick Rosser Professor
Professor Anna Secor Professor
Professor Philip Steinberg Professor
Professor Chris Stokes Professor
Professor Peter Talling Professor
Dr Laura Turnbull-Lloyd Associate Professor
Professor John Wainwright Professor
Professor Jeff Warburton Professor
Dr Pippa Whitehouse Associate Professor
Professor Helen F. Wilson Associate Professor
Dr Sarah Woodroffe Associate Professor


 Research Staff

Name Position
Dr Katherine Arrell Post Doctoral Research Associate
Dr Tiago Alves-Teixeira Post Doctoral Research Associate
Dr Megan Baker Post Doctoral Research Associate
Dr Matthieu Cartigny Royal Society Dorothy Hodgkin Fellow
Dr Hung-Ying Chen Post Doctoral Research Associate
Ms Julia Costescu Early Stage Researcher (Marie Skłodowska-Curie ITN)
Dr Michael Cullum Post Doctoral Research Associate
Dr Mathieu Dellinger Post Doctoral Research Associate
Dr Hannah Dickinson Postdoctoral Research Associate
Dr Alexander Dodge Post Doctoral Research Associate
Dr Alexandre Dunant Post Doctoral Research Associate
Dr Andrew Dwyer Addison Wheeler Research Fellow
Dr Erika Faigen Post Doctoral Research Associate
Dr Eleanor Georgiadis Post Doctoral Research Associate
Dr Victoria Habermehl Post Doctoral Research Associate
Dr Mark Kincey Post Doctoral Research Associate
Dr Felicity Amelia McDowall Postdoctoral Research Associate
Dr Bertie Miles Post Doctoral Research Associate
Dr Grace Nield Post Doctoral Research Associate
Ms Mel Oliveira-Guirro Early Stage Researcher (Marie Skłodowska-Curie ITN)
Dr William Otchere-darko Post Doctoral Research Associate
Dr Ed Pope Assistant Professor (Research)
Miss Deborah Priß Early Stage Researcher (Marie Skłodowska-Curie ITN)
Dr Mohammad Rahman Post Doctoral Research Associate
Dr Hanna Ruszczyk Post Doctoral Research Associate
Dr Laura Schoenberger Assistant Professor (Research)
Dr David Small Assistant Professor (Research)
Dr Mark Stevenson Post Doctoral Research Associate
Mr Shubham Tiwari Early Stage Researcher (Marie Skłodowska-Curie ITN)
Dr Priyam Tripathy Post Doctoral Research Associate
Dr Linjun Xie Post Doctoral Research Associate
Dr Jesse Zondervan Post Doctoral Research Associate